Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
10

Substack for Dummies

A dynamic essay engages Substack readers’ interest and attention. Many Substack writers are untrained in the “how” to do just that.
10

UNTRAINED SUBSTACK WRITERS

A dynamic essay is one that engages Substack readers’ interest and attention and presents a clear and compelling thesis or perspective. However, many Substack writers are untrained in the “how” to do just that.

First, allow me to say I despise my title, “Substack for Dummies.” The reference to “dummies” is not only derogatory but also does a poor job of communicating the real challenge. My objective today is to offer practical suggestions to untrained writers to make a broader impact on their audience.


Many of my readers know that I was functionally literate throughout my childhood up through my young adult years. Today, I couldn’t tell you the first thing about proper sentence structure. So, how do I write? I use what is called Observation Learning, which is the process of acquiring new skills or knowledge by watching and imitating others who have mastered Literary English. The difference is that trained writers use sentence structure as a science, while observation learners replicate what they see. Due to my learning disability, my tutor has encouraged me to master what works for me. So, I did!

Droves of writers do not know how to explain sentence structure. In fact, it is a massive challenge for many writers and learners of English. Sentence structure is how words, phrases, and clauses are arranged in a sentence to make it clear and meaningful. From what I am told, there are different types of sentence structures, such as simple, compound, complex, and compound-complex, that have different rules and patterns. Don’t ask me what all that means because I won’t be able to explain these writing rules. However, I do understand the basic parts of a sentence, such as the subject, predicate, object, and modifier, and how they relate to each other. As for the use of proper punctuation, conjunctions, and subordination, well, I have to rely on my Grammarly software.

Since I know that there are many writers who suffer from ignorance within the literary writing world, I have decided to offer suggestions of WHAT I have learned.

Find and download dynamic software for spelling, grammar, punctuation, clarity, engagement, and delivery mistakes. I use Grammarly. Get the premium version - you will never regret your purchase. This version will provide suggestions and corrections no matter what platform you are writing on.

With that “must” out of the way, here are my top 10 observation learning points:

  1. Pick a mind-grabbing title - as in “Substack for Dummies.”

  2. Create an outline of what you want to say - from the beginning to the conclusion.

  3. Write a catchy introduction paragraph that hooks the reader and introduces the main topic or thesis statement.

  4. From your outline, develop a well-organized body of paragraphs that supports the thesis with relevant evidence, examples, and analysis. If you are writing a Biblical essay, reference the Scriptures frequently - with less than four cut and pasted verses.

  5. Always remember to have a smooth transition between paragraphs that connects the ideas and maintains the flow of the essay.

  6. A strong conclusion is the most important part of the essay. Eighty percent of Z-readers read the first and last paragraphs of your article - so, summarize the main points, restate the thesis, and leave a lasting impression on the reader with a power-packed punch or challenge.

  7. Become predictable with your own clear and consistent style, tone, and voice that suits the purpose and audience of the essay.

  8. Always, and I mean always, double-check reading flow, logic of thought, and proper use of grammar, punctuation, and spelling that enhances the clarity and credibility of the essay. Avoid assumptive writing.

  9. Master the art of inserting pictorials - pictures, dividers, and “memes” in your article/essays - preferably by graphing your own images.

  10. Stay engaged in continued education in creative writing and literary English courses and online media. Never stop teaching the old dog new tricks.


These are some general guidelines I use for writing a dynamic essay, but you may also need to follow specific instructions or requirements depending on the type and topic of your essay. If you are an untrained writer like me, spelling may be one of your greatest weaknesses.

To spell effectively, you need to learn the secret rules and patterns of spelling in English, as well as the exceptions and variations. Some tips to improve your spelling are:

  • Read more books and articles in English and pay attention to how words are spelled.

  • Use a dictionary or a spell checker to look up words you are not sure about or to correct your mistakes.

  • Practice spelling words by writing them down, saying them aloud, or using flashcards or quizzes.

  • Learn the meanings and origins of words, as this can help you remember how they are spelled and how they are related to other words.

Review the most common spelling errors and avoid them, such as confusing homophones (words that sound the same but have different spellings and meanings), adding or omitting letters, or mixing up prefixes and suffixes. If you download the Grammarly software, it will keep track of your most common misspelled words.

Share

WRAPPING THINGS UP

Embrace your weaknesses in writing. It is not a curse but an opportunity to grow your skill set. Don’t fall into the trap that you have to major in literary English; become an observing learner like I did. Practice my BIG TEN list. It will make a major difference in your writing. Last but not least, let someone else track your spelling challenges by consistently feeding you your common mistakes. In time, you will become a better speller.

Take time to learn from Jessica Liu, she my favorite:

Write an Eye-Catching Essay HERE.

How to Write Strong Essay Body Paragraphs HERE.

How to Write a Clearly Structured Essay Outline HERE.

How to Write a STRONG Thesis Statement HERE.

Until next time, Dr. Stephen Phinney

The End Times Chronicles is host to the IM Video Podcast, a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

10 Comments
The End Times Chronicles
The End Times Podcast
Welcome to: 'End Times Podcast,' an outreach of Identity Matters Productions & IOM America. A podcast helping members of the body of Christ to experience a well-balanced view of modern events and how they apply to Biblical prophecies.