The End Times Chronicles
The End Times Podcast
Nehemiah: Stop the Oppression
0:00
-17:09

Nehemiah: Stop the Oppression

The End Times Podcast | Host, Dr. Stephen Phinney

“Nehemiah, The Man & The Legend” Book Available Fall of 2023

EFFECTIVE LEADERS STOP OPPRESSION

Can you imagine hearing the cry of a desperate soul and then walking away without helping them?  Honestly, I carry a greater burden for those who do this than those suffering.  We live in a world today where the lion's share does precisely that—both in the spiritual and earthly world.  You know the gig—turning your head to avoid the messiness of involving yourself in trauma and pain.  We’ve all done it. 

Allow me to deliberate a true story.  When I was six years old, I played with my best friend.  I sent him across the street to get something from his home.  He got on his trike and headed down the steep driveway.  His mother and I saw the trauma unfold at the same time.  A car was racing down the street, headed toward my friend.  Before his mother and I could reach him,  the car ran over him.  By the time I reached the end of the driveway, I had witnessed the car tire pop his head, which resulted in his blood drenching my body.  After the firemen picked me up out of the street and put me on the curb, I repetitively said aloud, “I killed my best friend.”  This traumatic event stayed with me throughout my life.  While the sorrow I had for my friend was severe enough, the agony I saw on the face of his father and mother left a more significant mark on my conscience, even more than the death of my friend.  The Lord used this trauma to cement my passion for freeing the oppressed.  Without question, the Lord implanted in me the beginning of my compelling pursuit of freeing the oppressed that day.  It is from this pursuit that the subtitle of our ministry is titled: Compassion in Action. 

THE OUTCRY OF THE PEOPLE

Nehemiah stepped into a big mess.  When he heard the tremendous outcry of the people, he most likely reflected on his childhood oppression committed by the Babylonians.  Because he grew up under the oppressive nature of Babylon, he understood it.  In my view, I believe God used this memory to establish him as the perfect candidate to free God’s people.  The king of Babylon's basic method of madness for the Jews was keeping them on the edge of starvation.  Intuitively Nehemiah knew that providing food was a top priority.  He used every ounce and resource available to him, including money from his own pocket, to solve this need.  Nehemiah knew that his warriors would be weak if their tummies were not filled.  He also resolved this crisis by buying back the vineyards and farms they lost to the wealthy Jews.  Finally, and most importantly, Nehemiah bought back the wives, sons, daughters, and warriors sold into slavery. 

The prospects for the poor people among the exiles who returned were deplorable.  They had been deficient in rains and, therefore, lacking in harvests.  They had mortgaged their lands to their wealthy brethren and sold their children to pay the royal taxes and procure means of sustenance.  The rich had taken advantage of their necessities by oppressing them with grievous acts requiring immediate payment of their debts.  When Nehemiah heard of it, his attitude was that of standing against the wrong, and in his way, he began to protest by using dependence on God for support.  In a great assembly, he fronted the abusers with their acts of selfishness and greed.  Nehemiah pleaded with the wealthy Jews to forgive them of their debts and return the property to the starving Jews.  In addition, he commanded them to return to God and stop looking after their selfish interests.

GOD ENACTS FAITH

This history shows us that when God acts, faith stamps its character on the people surrounding it.  Nehemiah acted with such faith.  Nehemiah’s faith activated the faith of all the Jews in Jerusalem—poor and rich.  The Jews who had so long left Jerusalem desolate were challenged to the core by their bloodline rights and were motivated to recommence the work of fixing what they had left desolate.  However, Judah was discouraged when Nehemiah placed their sins and consequences in front of them: laziness and ignorance.  Nehemiah’s faith brought out the perseverance which characterizes true faith when the work is of God, be it ever so poor in appearance.  His job was to shift their focus from self to the work of God.  By his faith in God and a supernatural miracle of heart—Nehemiah’s immovability, the people were ready to work and fight simultaneously.  Authentic faith always identifies God and his people from the inside out. This becomes a spring of Living Water for all concerned, which was the case with Nehemiah.  In times of difficulty, despair, and hopelessness, faith does not always show itself in the magnificence of the final product. Still, in moving forward while embracing difficulties, the love of God carries us across the line of victory.

Listen to the full podcast…


Narrator | Dr. Stephen Phinney

The End Times Podcast is a listener-supported ministry outreach. Your donation is appreciated: HERE

0 Comments
The End Times Chronicles
The End Times Podcast
Welcome to: 'End Times Podcast,' an outreach of Identity Matters Productions & IOM America. A podcast helping members of the body of Christ to experience a well-balanced view of modern events and how they apply to Biblical prophecies.